2017 Goals

As I had mentioned in my very first post (Welcome to Fit&Finance!), I laid out 3 broad goals I have for the new year, but promised I would break them down into more detail in a separate blog post. Hence today’s post. 2017 is less than two weeks away, which means that I need to get my shit stuff together and make sure I’m ready to tackle my goals come January 1st!

My first goal of losing fat and gaining more lean muscle is probably also on everyone else’s list this year. However, I really do want to lose some extra pounds floating around my middle and tone up the entire body. During school (and the holidays), I tend to get a bit “fluffier” because I either have very little time to prepare healthy foods, or I have no control and eat whatever is put in front of me. Really, it’s a combo of both, and I need to work on my control the most. I really have no problem working out, it’s the eating part that kills me, and really is what is going to make the difference in achieving this goal. I have a girls trip planned in May of next year, and hope to feel in tip top shape by then so I can go into the trip with no regrets. I also would love to participate in a run next year (10k, half marathon maybe?). I think the easiest way for me to achieve this goal is to plan out my meals like I used to and be better about making lunches the day prior to work. That way, I have no excuses to say that I ran out of time and wasn’t able to grab something healthy. I was even thinking about picking up some of these super handy meal prep containers to help make the process a little bit easier!

vegetables-760860_1280.jpg

Photo Cred: Pixabay.com

Goal #2 kind of blends in with goal #1, as eating healthier, non-processed foods definitely helps with weight loss and overall health in general. I definitely have gotten better about this over the last few years, and really have noticed a difference in my preferences — aka, I totally can’t stand most things that are artificially sweetened, whereas, I used to have no problem with this. It’s crazy how much your taste buds can change when you follow a healthy diet and “coach” them to like good-for-you foods instead of sugar-laden foods. I still wish to get better with this goal, though, because I know it will help me achieve optimal physical greatness.

Goal #3 in a nutshell is to pay off more debt so that I can enjoy the finer things in life. Yes, it may be true that money cannot buy you happiness, but it can provide you freedom and choices to do things that make you happy. For example, I work full time, go to school, and have a toddler to take care of, which means I don’t get to partake in a lot of “extra curricular” activities or volunteer opportunities.  I would love to do more of each, and if I had more discretionary money, I would be able to pay more money for a babysitter to watch my kiddo while I can go do these things once in a while. Also, if we had more money to spend on extras, we could take more family trips and explore the world, something we hardly do now because of our tight budget. I have never been so excited to start off a year focusing on spending less, saving more, and living with more intent!

m5xvtiv1lo8-jeremie-cremer

Photo Cred: unsplash.com

I will certainly be updating you on the progress of each of these goals along the way. Please share what your fitness and financial goals are for the new year – I would love to hear ’em!

 

One thought on “2017 Goals

Leave a Reply

